B. Williams Basic Profile Relief Agency:  PWOC

Registry Values:

Bed Bath & Beyond: $428.20

Sears Value: $119.99

Relief agency notes:  UPDATE:  Ms. Williams has moved back to LA, and is attending Xavier University.

 

UPDATE December 5th: This young lady will be heading back to Xavier University in December.  As a result, the only item she is requesting from her Sears Registry is Luggage to transport her clothing and personal items back to Louisiana.

 

This young lady is a very bright and special person.  In her second year at Xavier University, she came to NJ via Texas.  Ms Williams is now taking chemistry, physics, religion and a philosophy class at Seton Hall University. On weekends she visits her dad, M. Williams in Newark, and keeps in constant contact with her mom who now lives in Houston.   She is planning on going back to Xavier for the spring semester. 

Family Name

Role Family Totals Status

B. Williams

Student at SHU and daughter to M. Williams

Family:

Adults:

Children

1

1

 

Single

Where did you live?

Where do you live now?

State: Louisiana County: Orleans State: New Jersey County: Essex

How long will you live at your new address?  Please explain.

I will live at this address for another month and a half.  More or less, this is because I'm attending college at Seton Hall University for the semester and then I will return back to my former university. (Xavier University of Louisiana)

Other Questions

1.  Describe the events that made you leave your previous home?  What happened to your home?  What happened to your neighborhood?

The reason I was forced to leave my home in New Orleans was due to Hurricane Katrina. My home suffered extensive structural damage.  Some of the homes in my neighborhood were completely destroyed.

2.  When you left your home, where did you go?  How did you travel?

When I left my home, my mother and I traveled to Baton Rouge, LA about 80 miles west of New Orleans. We stayed there for about 1 week and then we traveled to Dallas, Tx.  We traveled by automobile.

3.  What agencies have helped you?  (Red Cross, FEMA, Salvation Army)  How has that experience been?

Salvation Army provided me with clothing when I was in Dallas, TX.  The experience was not that great because I only had the opportunity to choose 3 sets of clothing.  Plus, I had never worn used clothes before.

4.  How did you arrive at your current home?  Who helped you find your home?

My aunt offered me to come and stay in New Jersey for this semester to get into school, so I flew from Dallas, TX and a new friend of our family and someone who was volunteering at PWOC in Newark helped me get into college.

5.  Did you stay at a shelter or transitional center before you moved into your current home?  If yes, what was that like?

During the evacuation process, my family and I took shelter in two family members homes for about a week in Baton Rouge, La. More of less, my mother decided to travel to Dallas, TX for job purposes and I stayed in a hotel with my family for about 1 week before I reached my current location in Jersey.

6.  What has been easy in the transition?  What good experiences have you had?

The fact that I've been able to continue my education has been the best part of my transition.

7.  What has been difficult in the transition?

The most difficult thing about my transition is that I'm still away from some of my friends and family. Furthermore, I'm away from my school, Xavier University of LA.